Bowling’s digital daily newspaper delivering news, analysis and opinion.

Jason Belmonte’s stunning gutter in final frame hands top seed of 2020 PBA Players Championship to E.J. Tackett; Bill O’Neill, Marshall Kent, Kris Prather also make stepladder finals

JEFF RICHGELS | Posted: Thursday, February 13, 2020 10:00 pm
The stepladder finalists for the 2020 PBA Players Championship, left to right and in order from first to fifth: E.J. Tackett, Jason Belmonte, Bill O'Neill, Marshall Kent and Kris Prather. Photo by Pro Bowlers Association.
Jason Belmonte and E.J. Tackett entered the position-round game of the 2020 PBA Players Championship close enough to each other and so far ahead of the rest of the top 24 that the winner of their match was assured of having the top seed for Saturday’s stepladder finals. Tackett had control of the match when he whiffed a 10-pin in the ninth frame, leaving him with a maximum 225 if he struck out on the 10th, rather than a maximum 236. The powerful right-hander’s unexpected error put...